Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit The Nashville Sound

The Nashville Sound
Sale: $13.48
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.94 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $4.04 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  6F3HD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 16, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Southeastern Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Musically, THE NASHVILLE SOUND hints at Isbell's bar band roots on up-tempo rockers like 'Cumberland Gap' and 'Hope the High Road.'"
Mojo (Publisher)
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he former Drive By Trucker's latest certainly does have that Nashville sound: clear and resonant and with an emphasis on note-perfect simplicity. Yet Isbell's songs go way beyond standard country fantasy, typically tapping into the sadness of finding yourself at odds with the world."
Pitchfork (Website) - "'Hope the High Road,' with its heartfelt instructions for living a better life, is rousing enough to earn a place on future setlists....'Cumberland Gap' is another highlight...it gains its momentum entirely from the 400 Unit's mighty performance."


  • 1.Last of My Kind
  • 2.Cumberland Gap
  • 3.Tupelo
  • 4.White Man's World
  • 5.If We Were Vampires
  • 6.Anxiety
  • 7.Molotov
  • 8.Chaos and Clothes
  • 9.Hope the High Road
  • 10.Something to Love

Product Description:

Personnel: Jason Isbell (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Dave Cobb (acoustic guitar, percussion); Sadler Vaden (electric guitar); Amanda Shires (strings, background vocals); Derry Deborja (keyboards); Chad Gamble (drums).
Recording information: RCA's "Nashville Sound" Studio.
Photographers: Derry Deborja; Amanda Shires; Danny Clinch.
Jason Isbell took solo credit on his breakthrough albums Southeastern (2013) and Something More Than Free (2015), while 2017's The Nashville Sound is credited to Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit. Give the album a spin and it doesn't take long to figure out why. While this is as impressive a showcase for Isbell's talents as a songwriter and vocalist as his previous two albums, this set delivers a richer and more eclectic sound, and this time around, the performances matter just as much as the songs. The Nashville Sound is a less explicitly autobiographical album than Isbell's earlier releases, and the more varied tone of the ten tracks helps to emphasize the thematic strength of Isbell's storytelling, with the electric guitar work of Isbell and Sadler Vaden, the keyboards of Derry Deborja, and the violin of Amanda Shires lending these numbers a wide range of tones and moods. From the crashing dynamics of "Anxiety," the understated dread of "White Man's World," and the spare acoustic approach of "If We Were Vampires" to the guitar-fueled fury of "Hope the High Road," the New South vs. Old South rock of "The Cumberland Gap," and the bittersweet bluegrass-styled confessions of "Something to Love," this is a set of outstanding songs that registers as the work of a great band, as well as the craft of a world-class tunesmith. Isbell was already a gifted artist when he first gained public visibility with the Drive-By Truckers, but The Nashville Sound finds him growing from strength to strength, and it reaffirms his place as one of the best and most emotionally affecting artists working in roots music today. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 81,067
  • UPC: 752830537903
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)